top of page

Middle Secondary





Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international curriculum for 14-16 year olds, leading to globally recognised and valued Cambridge IGCSE qualifications. It is part of the Cambridge Secondary 2 stage. t incorporates the best in international education for learners at this level. It develops in line with changing needs, and is regularly updated and extended.


Cambridge IGCSE encourages learner-centred and enquiry-based approaches to learning. It develops learners' skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving, giving learners excellent preparation for the next stage in their education.


Cambridge IGCSE provides many subjects. Each subject is certificated separately. Over 70 subjects are available, including more than 30 language courses, offering a variety of routes for learners of different abilities. Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:


Subject content

  • Applying knowledge and understanding to familiar and new situations

  • Intellectual enquiry

  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change

  • Working and communicating in English

  • Influencing outcomes

  • Cultural awareness



Assessment for Cambridge IGCSE includes written and oral tests, coursework and practical assessment. Schools have the option of assessing learners using only external examinations or, in most subjects, combining examinations with coursework. Coursework is set and marked by the teacher and externally moderated by Cambridge.


In most subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Each learner's performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades. There are clear guidelines which explain the standard of achievement for different grades. Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur twice a year, in May/June and October/November. Results are issued in August and January.






Cambridge ICE is the group award of the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) and requires the study of subjects drawn from the five different IGCSE subject groups. It gives schools the opportunity to benefit from offering a broad and balanced curriculum by recognising the achievements of students who pass examinations in at least seven subjects, including two languages, and one subject from each of the other subject groups.


The Cambridge ICE Curriculum

The Cambridge portfolio of IGCSE qualifications provides a solid foundation for higher level courses such as GCE AS and A Levels and the International Baccalaureate Diploma as well as excellent preparation for employment.


A wide range of IGCSE subjects is available and these are grouped into five curriculum areas, as follows:

  • Group I: Languages 

  • Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences 

  • Group III: Sciences 

  • Group IV: Mathematics 

  • Group V: Creative, Technical and Vocational 


Selection from five curriculum areas

Candidates hoping to gain the Cambridge ICE group award must enter and sit for at least seven subjects selected from the five IGCSE curriculum areas. The subjects selected must include two (different) languages from Group I (i.e. only one of First Language English and English as a Second Language may count towards Cambridge ICE) and one subject from each of Groups II, III, IV and V. The seventh subject can be taken from any of the five subject groups.


Cambridge ICE-counting subjects

With Cambridge permission, subjects taken at GCE Ordinary Level may be counted towards Cambridge ICE certification. Such substitution will not be permitted if the proposed substitute subject is available as an IGCSE subject in the same session. Each such non-IGCSE subject will be assigned, by Cambridge, to a subject group and will become an adopted IGCSE subject as far as the Cambridge ICE is concerned. No candidate who has taken fewer than six IGCSE subjects will be awarded an ICE certificate. Cambridge Customer Services are able to provide guidance as to which O Levels can count towards the Cambridge ICE certificate.

bottom of page